American instant messaging social media platform, WhatsApp has rolled out three new features for its users, Naija News reports.
The new privacy features as announced by Mark Zuckerberg on Tuesday will provide even more layers of protection for its users.
The media magnate stated via his official Facebook page that the new feature is to give its users more control over their conversations on the app.
Naija News understands that WhatsApp will allow users to leave group chats without alerting members of the groups about the action.
Announcing the development, Zuckerberg wrote on his Facebook page: “We love our group chats but some are not forever. We’re making it possible to exit a group privately without making it a big deal to everyone. Now, instead of notifying the full group when you are leaving, only the admins will be notified. This feature will start to roll out to all users this month.”
The new feature will also disable making a screenshot on messages set to delete after it has been read or viewed once.
The view once features which were rolled out last year August will now have an added layer of privacy, Naija News understands.
“Now we’re enabling screenshot blocking for View Once messages for an added layer of protection. We’re testing this feature now and are excited to roll it out to users soon,” the statement noted.
The third privacy feature according to the social media platform owner will allow users to control who can see them when they are online, a feature that will roll out to users this month.
“For the moments that you want to keep your online presence private, we’re introducing the ability to select who can and can’t see when you’re online.
“New privacy features coming to WhatsApp: exit group chats without notifying everyone, control who can see when you’re online, and prevent screenshots on view once messages. We’ll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations,” he said.
This article was originally published on Naija News